Skip to content ↓

School governors are ordinary people from the local community who wish to make a positive contribution to children’s education. They are the largest volunteer force in the country and have an important part to play in raising school standards through their three key roles of setting the strategic direction of the School, ensuring accountability, and being the School’s ‘critical friend’.

Almost anyone can become a school governor. All new governors receive training and support from the School, the Local Authority and their fellow governors. If you are interested in assisting the School in this way, please ask the School Office for further details.

The governing body make strategic decisions on how the school is run and are answerable to parents, the wider community and most importantly the children who attend Bush Hill Park Primary School. They govern rather than manage giving direction and focus. The management of the school remains the responsibility of the Headteacher. They are responsible for:

  • Appointing the Headteacher and Deputy Headteacher and ensuring the implementation of a range of personnel procedures
  • Managing the schools budget
  • Determining aims, policies and priorities for Bush Hill Park primary School
  • Monitoring and evaluating the work of the school
  • Ensuring high levels of attendance and good standards of pupil behaviour
  • Ensuring that all children in the school have access to a broad and balanced curriculum, suitable to age, aptitude and ability, which prepares them for adult life
  • Ensuring the Health and Safety of pupils and staff
Role Name and Duty
Chair Rachael Sitch
(Co-opted Governor)
Vice Chair Monica Raphael
(Co-opted Governor)
Headteacher Governor     Anna Theodosiou
LA Governor Richard Hudson
Staff Governor  Kirsty Munns
Parent Governors     

Samantha Woollacott

Co-opted Governors

Irina Pehkonen

Linda Warner

Evelyn Len 

Rikin Tailor

Robert Bennett 

Sabinigie Singham

All Governors can be contacted through the school via our school telephone number: 020 8366 0521 or via email:

Register of Business Interest & Pecuniary Interests

School Name : Bush Hill Park Primary School

Term of Office for each category is 4 Years unless otherwise indicated below:

Name of Governor Category Interest Relationships

Date (as at)

Rachel Sitch
Co-opted  Brand Manager at AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals n/a 02/11/2022
Monica Raphael
(Vice Chair)
Co-opted Governor at Firs Farm Primary School n/a 01/09/2021
Anna Theodosiou Headteacher None Employee 10/09/2022
Irina Pehkonen Co-opted Social Researcher for the Ministry of Justice n/a 19/10/2022
Linda Warner Co-opted None n/a 20/10/2022
Richard Hudson LA Headteacher of Merryhills Primary School n/a 01/03/2022
Anastasia Neocleous Deputy Headteacher Governor at St Andrews Primary School Southgate Employee 10/09/2022
Sabinigie Singham Co-opted None None  08/10/2022
Rikin Tailor  Co-opted Head of Corporate Finance at Westminster City Council  None  07/09/2022
Evelyn Len Co-opted Head of Institutional Fundraising at Zoological society of London  None 04/10/2022
Robert Bennett  Co-opted Senior Management Director of AKT 11 (Structural and Civil Engineering Consultants) None  02/11/2022
Kirsty Munns  Staff Governor  None None 30/01/22
Samantha Woollacott Parent Governor Teacher at Stoke Newington School & Sixth Form None 01/03/23

Attendance Register 2022 - 2023



Attendance Register 2021 - 2022

Name and Role

Full Governing Body 


Full Governing Body
Curriculum Committee 
Full Governing Body 
Curriculum Committee 
Full Governing Body 
Roger Kingsnorth
Monica Raphael
N N N Y   N Y N Y

Irina Pehkonen (Co-opted)

Y N Y N   Y Y Y Y

Linda Warner (Co-opted)

Y Y N Y Y   Y N Y
Leon Rodin
Y Resigned      
Richard Hudson
    N Y N N N
Nikki Harrison (Co-Opted) Y Y N N Y Resigned      

Tom Pexton (Staff)

Y N Y N   Y Y Y N
Rachel Sitch (Parent) Y   Y Y   Y Y Y Y
Anna Theodosiou (Headteacher) Y Y   Y Y Y Y Y Y
Anastasia Neocleous (Deputy Head) Y N Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
Lorraine Shaw (SBM) Y Y N Y Y   Y N Y
Schantelle Henry (Parent) Y   N Y   N Y N Y
Joseph McCann (Co-opted) N Y N Y Y Resigned      
Lefki Lloyd-Hughes Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
Nnenna  Urum-Eke (Parent) Y N N N N N Y N N
Feryal Clark, MP N N Y N Resigned        
Ezgi Aslan


        Y Y N Y
Thomas Crook          Y Y N Y

Who are the school governors and what do we do?

The school’s governors are a group of volunteers including parents, staff and members of the local community. We meet once or twice a term and work closely with the Headteacher to support the school. We monitor the school’s performance and are also involved in setting targets to improve standards and for financial planning.

Within the governing body we have two committees which again meet each term and concentrate their discussions around a particular area of responsibility. These committees are Full Governing Body including Curriculum and Resources including, Finance, Premises/Health & Safety and Staffing.

Composition of the Governing Body

Bush Hill Park Primary School has a governing body of members with representatives from 4 categories.
The categories of governor are as follows:-

Parent – Parent governors are elected by members of the parent community. They must have legal parental responsibility for a child registered as a pupil at the school. If insufficient parents stand for election, the governing body can appoint parent governors.

Staff – Staff governors are elected by all staff, either teaching or support staff. The Headteacher is a member of the governing body by virtue of his/her office and counts as a member of the staff category.

Local Authority –This category of governors is appointed by the Local Authority.

Co-opted – Co-opted governors are appointed by the governing body through a skills audit. Governing bodies are encouraged to recruit representatives from local businesses and charitable organisations. This category can include parents and members of staff or elected members of the Local Authority. Appointments are made by nominations and voting by all governors at the full governing body meeting.

The Governing Body Committees

It is not practical for the full governing body to make decisions on every aspect of its business. There are, therefore, a number of committees which have specific areas of work delegated to them. These committees meet at intervals during the term and report back to the full governing body for ratification of their decisions.

Full Governing Body including Curriculum Committee

This committee ensures that all children have access to the national curriculum and that high academic standards are maintained. To do this we discuss the school’s curriculum policies, monitor the quality of teaching and study the annual attainment test results. We also check that pupils with additional needs are provided for and treated fairly. We discuss the school’s policies, including behaviour and attendance policies, equal opportunities policies relating to staff and pupils, anti-bullying and child safeguarding policies.

Resources Committee including Finance, Premises/Health and Safety and Staffing

This committee ensures that all the children have a suitable and safe school environment. To do this we check that the buildings are fit for purpose and well maintained. We carry out risk assessments where appropriate and address any health and safety concerns that arise. We oversee the financial management of the school and makes sure that it operates within budget and makes the most effective use of the funds it receives from the Local Authority. We help the Headteacher to set a three year plan of projected income and expenditure and also advise on policies relating to financial matters. In terms of staffing, we oversee the appointment of all staff in the school, their professional development and their well-being.

FGB Responsibilities and Roles